Tel. : +49 (0) 3731 4195190
Fax : +49 (0) 3731 4195199
The four-winged construction in the heart of the Old Town dates back to the 16th century. Margrave Otto, the Rich, had ordered to build Freudenstein's predecessor castle for the protection of the town as well as of the silver mining around 1175/80. In the late 18th century, the castle was converted into a granary. After total renovation, Freudenstein is now home to two collections of world renown as of the end of 2008: The world's greatest mineral exhibition "terra mineralia" presented by the Technical University Bergakademie Freiberg. The castle café invites you to linger.
The world's largest collection of minerals - Terra Mineralia - sparkles in Freiberg in Schloss Freudenstein Castle. The show of minerals comprises over 80,000 exhibits of unique quality of the Swiss private collector Erika Pohl-Ströher - collected in more than 50 years. The major part of the specimens represents top world class, an overwhelming variety of colours and forms of the crystals for the visitor, especially in the treasury in the Renaissance vault. Central topic of the exhibition is a "Mineralogical World Tour". The exhibition convinces with its interactive elements.
The “Fatherly Ordinance” decreed by the first Albertine, Duke Albert of Saxony, in 1499, wasintended to be beneficial. It excluded future subdivisions of the lands, so that Albertine Saxony never fell apart – in contrast to the Ernestine areas. Henry, the son of Albert and brother of Duke George the Bearded, renounced his succession to the throne in the “Brotherly Agreement” of 1505 in favor of George’s son John and for this received the estates of Freiberg and Wolkenstein. He lived at Freudenstein Castle in Freiberg, which today houses the most beautiful collection of minerals in the world. After the death of George the Bearded, who after the death of his sons had tried by all means to prevent his brother succeeding him, Henry introduced the Reformation into the Duchy of Saxony.