Here, where stallions once breathed heavily in front of grand barouches, horse-powered engines now roar: Visible from afar, the monumental Renaissance castle rises above the Zschopau valley on a porphyry cone. It is aptly called the “Crown of the Ore Mountains” because of its roof shape.
Augustusburg Castle is one of the favorite places of motorcycle fans since this is the home of Europe’s largest motorbike museum. Numerous unique exhibits from the history of this fascinating means of travel are on display here. During the “Winter Meeting” of the motorcycle congregation, Augustusburg Castle attracts thousands of motorcycle fans. Here visitors will not only find the motorcycle museum but also other worthwhile exhibitions of game and birds, historic coaches, as well as exhibitions on hunting and the history of Augustusburg Castle.
One of the highlights of the castle is the castle church with an altarpiece painted by Lucas Cranach the Younger. This altarpiece is considered to be one of the most remarkable works of art of its kind. It has never been removed from its original location since the church was consecrated. Furthermore, for those who wish to rest after having enjoyed all the sights, the castle also contains a youth hostel in which you can stay the night.
Notes on accessibility / deviations from the pictograms:
- 2 disabled parking spaces in the car park in front of the castle
- From there it is about 80 m to the castle courtyard - an accompanying person is recommended
- Access to the cashier's desk via 1 step of 16 cm or step-free via side entrance Toilet (doors 85-90 cm)
- Lift to the special exhibition: space of 108x172 cm for turning a wheelchair
- In the Motorcycle Museum:
- Thresholds of 10 cm each
- Lift: door 87 cm, space of 100x140 cm for turning a wheelchair
- The carriage museum is accessible via 1 step of 9 cm
- Church and fountain house are accessible with mobile ramps. Doors 82-90 cm
- Audio-guide available
Motor Museum at Augustusburg Castle
Until German reunification, the motorcycle plant in Zschopau was one of the largest motorcycle manufacturers in the world. In place of the brand “DKW”, which was claimed by the new Auto Union in West Germany, the GDR brought in “MZ”, an abbreviation of "Motorcycle works Zschopau". And so it is not surprising that two motorcycle museums are located in direct proximity, especially since they complement each other perfectly.
While the museum at Wildeck Castle in Zschopau gets more points for the authenticity of the private collection of the grandson of DKW founder Jørgen Skafte Rasmussen, the exhibition at Augustusburg Castle shows the development of DKW and MZ with a certain completeness. Indeed, 175 exhibits in an impressive area of 1,200 sq m show the entire technical development of the motorcycle from 1885 to the present day. In this way, the “crown of the Ore Mountains” is the largest motorcycle museum in Europe. Particular highlights of the exhibition are motorsport productions with historical films, a sound simulator, numerous prototypes and unique examples. Several times every year biker meetings and classic car meetings take place, which transform Augustusburg Castle into an open-air museum. If four wheels and slower speed are preferred, the castle also offers a carriage museum, in which there is an impressive exhibition of town and society carriages from the 19th and 20th centuries and gala carriages of the royal Saxon stables.
Augustus of Saxony was born at Freudenstein Castle, like his brother Maurice. In 1548 he married Anna of Denmark in Torgau. The couple was to go down in Saxon history as “Father Augustus” and “Mother Anna”. As Elector, Augustus led his heavily indebted country between 1553 and 1586 to new economic prosperity. A magnificent example of the Elector’s extensive constructions is the hunting lodge of Augustusburg, the “crown of the Ore Mountains”, which now houses, among other things, the largest motorcycle museum in Europe. The altarpiece in the castle church depicts the family of Elector Augustus and their Protestant understanding of faith. It has never left its place, just as the works of the Cranachs are still everywhere in Saxony. It was under Elector Augustus that Saxony was given the honorary title “Mother of the Reformation”.